Consiglio's has become our favorite New Haven restaurant to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, or a well deserved night out. My husband and I love well prepared Italian food, and Consiglio's is the best. The sauce is fresh and almost as good as mine. Everything from the bread to the desserts are delicious. Also, the service from the hostess to the wait staff is welcoming and efficient. Teddy, our waiter during our last few visits, was attentive and accommodating. Few restaurants have the warmth, service, and wonderful cuisine that Consiglio's does, and I hope it remains for a few more generations.

Patricia Kelley, February 2016


Great atmosphere, terrific food and wonderful service. We went to Consiglio's to celebrate a special family occasion and couldn't be happier.

Ray Johnson, January 2016


Such friendly and efficient staff. We felt taken care of and the food is out if this world!

Matthew Lacy, December 2015


I cannot thank you enough for meeting my requirements for a window table. I know you had to rearrange to accommodate us. The food was beyond fabulous and the service was outstanding. Sarah made the whole night special. I have told everyone about our experience and you will see us as well as our whole family on many occasions. I want to thank you for making a special night husband birthday) even better with the friendliness of your entire staff, but most of all our Server Sarah. I would request her each time. Please extend my thanks to her. See you in December for our Anniversary.

September 17, 2015


How do merriment and murder, delicious dining and devious detecting combine in one evening of super fun?  Easy, if it’s the sleuthing party at Consiglio’s grand restaurant on Wooster Street in New Haven known for fine Italian dining experiences for 77 years as well as the comic and ingenious murder mysteries devised and hosted by improvisational entertainer Michael Sayers.

Read the full review here: bonniegoldberg.blogspot.com

Bonnie Goldberg



“consistently excellent italian cuisine”

Reviewed May 28, 2014


"The food was outstanding, the service was extraordinary, and the atmosphere was friendly and lively! We will be sure to return again in the future!!"

Wendy P, April 2014



"We've been to many Italian Restaurants so far, you're the best. The service last night was great!"

Agnes B, March 2014


"Our waiter was very personable & attentive, never made us feel rushed. The food was out of this world! Thanks for making Valentine's Day so memorable for my husband & me!"

Barbara, February 2014



"Thank you so much for organizing a lovely evening at your restaurant for our team. Your servers and managers were fabulous; very thoughtful, polite and courteous. We were a large group and they made sure everyone was well taken care of. The food was just as we wanted, light and nourishing and tasteful. Everyone in our group enjoyed themselves and had a really good time."

Mona Trikha


"Had a wedding rehearsal party with 22 people and had a great time. Everything was nicely set up for our party. Our waitress was the greatest and went out of her way for whatever we needed.The food was great especially the Chicken Saltimbocca. The food came out timely, hot, and delicious. Atmosphere was enjoyable. Everyone enjoyed the evening. Thank you Consiglio's!"

Dennis R.


"I have been to Consiglio's many times over the years. It is a standalone smallish building on Wooster Street near the famous Pepes pizza. It is a comfortable and comforting restaurant with very decent food. I was especially pleased last December when I ordered the office holiday food from them and found it to be the best we had ever had." 

"Travel Lady", Boston


"What a great place to have some yummy Italian food, my friends and I visited here for the first time and I recommend others to spot by and taste for your self. Great food, excellent service."

Anonymous (Zagat customer review)


"Long-time family favorite for special occasions. Affordable and enticing wine list. Best-I've- ever-had southern Italian classics. The chicken ana and chicken rosa are incredible, gnochi dishes are sublime. Staff is friendly, professional and accommodating. Threw a disorganized family party there and they were beyond helpful and tolerant."

Anonymous (Zagat customer review)


"I have eaten in Consiglios many times over the past 10 or 12 years, since the children of the founders took it over and turned a not very interesting old fashioned family restaurant into an excellent place. The last time I was here, about a week ago, a couple I hade never seen before stopped me as I walked in. They had come in for supper as they drove from NYC to Providence, and they raved about the food. New Haven has many superb restaurants, some of which are better and more expensive or trendier than Consiglios, but I have never been less than very pleased when seeking a very good meal, imaginatively and well prepared, with friendly service able to explain the changing list of daily specials. Very close to I91 and I95, between Long Wharf Theater and downtown."

Anonymous (Zagat customer review)


"This place is underrated in today's market. Traditional (and now often hard to find) Italian dishes creatively prepared and nicely served by a friendly (but not gushing) and well trained staff. A peacefull haven on often hectic Wooster Street."

Anonymous (Zagat customer review)


"One of the best places for a sane and dignified meal. The food is all good especially the homemade caviatelli! White tablecloths in the old style. Makes one feel spoiled and catered to. I love this place.!!!"

Anonymous (Zagat customer review)